laredotornado
Nickel Bitcoiner
Nickel Bitcoiner

What is Coinbase's BTC wallet?

Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:20 pm

Hi,

I'm new to BitCoin. I just created an account with Coinbase and purchased some BitCoin. Coinbase tells me the funds will be deposited into my "BTC Wallet". Does anyone know what that is? I didn't explicitly create a wallet with Coinbase or anyone else, so perhaps they do it for me?

Grateful for any additional information people have regarding Coinbase.

- Dave

GreyWyvern
Bronze Bitcoiner
Bronze Bitcoiner

Donate BTC of your choice to 1Db3ACR6PpK5pkMFMn3DAErQ47y9zhxSPo

Re: What is Coinbase's BTC wallet?

Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:31 pm

Hi Dave,

A "wallet" is any place that stores your BTC in a directly spendable form. You can send BTC from your "wallet" account at Coinbase, and receive it using regular BTC addresses just as if you had the account on your desktop or phone. The only difference is that instead of you having the private keys, Coinbase is holding them for you.

Almost anytime you create an account with any third party to hold BTC, you will be creating a wallet. In some cases, the third party will store the BTC in their own wallet for which you'll have neither the private nor the public keys. In those cases, you would request the withdraw your BTC into a spendable wallet.

Coinbase is a reputable company which you can trust with your private keys, but remember that nothing is as secure as holding the private keys yourself in your own wallet. There is a LARGE incentive for hackers to break into holders of many accounts like Coinbase, and less incentive for them to break into the account of just one person.

Hope that helps!
Estimate the return on a pool.bitcoin.com contract: http://www.greywyvern.com/code/javascri ... itcoincalc

davidmccoy
Nickel Bitcoiner
Nickel Bitcoiner

Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:42 pm