AlexTee
Nickel Bitcoiner
Nickel Bitcoiner

Donate BTC of your choice to 1EWQKeX3pKPs2o9LY39W57T93zb8sUxBHE

Bitcoin Giveways

Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:18 am

I was very interested in Edwards very generous Bitcoin giveaway from a few days ago. Due to lack of posts and reputation I didn't bother entering, but it did get me thinking. How important do you guys think giveaways, prizes, etc. are/will be in the adoption of bitcoin? To me it seems like something that is not often mentioned (granted I'm not overly active on forums - so it may be far more common than I assume) but, I think, has huge potential in gaining peoples attention.

I'm not an overly techie person or anything like that but people who know me assume I will be interested in Bitcoin because I am pretty hard-core libertarian in my thinking. As a result, I have discussed Bitcoin with roughly a dozen people, over a beer, in the last year or so. I have had no luck in convincing anyone of its merits by explaining it to them or having them watch videos where much more eloquent people than myself explain it. However once you set them up a wallet and send them a few dollars worth they seem to get it. Owning it and using it leads to them being much more keen on it than they otherwise would be (especially atm when the price is soaring).

So given that there is such a large disparity in the amount of bitcoins owned by early adopters vs the rest of us (it makes the inequality in the real world seem like a communists wet-dream by comparison) how much responsibility do you guys feel is on the likes of Satoshi etc. to share the wealth in terms of giving away/sharing their bitcoins?

I'm not asking in a judging way either, I mean to each their own, private property rights and all that jazz. Rather I'm asking can Bitcoin succeed if those people who own large amounts don't engage themselves in Andresen-faucet-philanthropic-type-behaviour?

Smartie
Nickel Bitcoiner
Nickel Bitcoiner