laredotornado
Nickel Bitcoiner
Nickel Bitcoiner

What information do I need from someone if they are going to donate Bitcoin?

Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:50 pm

Hi,

We are trying to create an app using the Coinbase API that will allow someone to donate Bitcoin to our organization. I am new to crypto-currency, so my question is, what information do we need to collect from someone in order to facilitate this?

If it simplifies things, we can assume that person has a Coinbase wallet.

Thanks, - Dave

GreyWyvern
Bronze Bitcoiner
Bronze Bitcoiner

Donate BTC of your choice to 1Db3ACR6PpK5pkMFMn3DAErQ47y9zhxSPo

Re: What information do I need from someone if they are going to donate Bitcoin?

Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:00 pm

Do you mean for tax purposes? Or to honour them for their donation somewhere on your website?

Because to just accept Bitcoin donations there is literally zero information you need to collect from the person donating. You just put your Bitcoin address on your site somewhere and anyone can send you coins, zero information required.
Estimate the return on a pool.bitcoin.com contract: http://www.greywyvern.com/code/javascri ... itcoincalc

laredotornado
Nickel Bitcoiner
Nickel Bitcoiner

Re: What information do I need from someone if they are going to donate Bitcoin?

Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:21 am

Yeah but if we're creating a form where someone wants to donate, what information do we collect from them? I mean, obviously there would be a field for the amount of Bitcoin they want to donate, but then I assume we need their wallet address or some password or something. On the back-end we can then take this information and deposit the money into the wallet we have set up.

As a parallel, if someone is donating via credit card, we would collect the credit card number, the security code, the expiration date and possibly billing info, before passing taht on to the payment processor. So I'm wondering what the equivalent is for Bitcoin.

nandibear
Global Moderator