bitkilo
Platinum Bitcoiner
Platinum Bitcoiner

Donate BTC of your choice to 1DJcTrvdGsmKr7LdriVizkVmkcXWoG12nt

How will Unlimited safely be implemented?

Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:06 pm

Most that know me here would know that i am not a developer and far from an expert on the bitcoin code but what i am is a daily user of bitcoin because I believe strongly in what a decentralized currency like this can do for the world, well that and i no longer wish to support the debt based system we currently have with fiat currencies that is doing nothing to help the world.

As an everyday bitcoin user i do run into some problems with transactions sometimes taking a little longer than usual to confirm but as long as i have calculated the fee correctly and the network isn't being hit with a spam attack i would say 95% of my transactions receive the first confirmation within 30min max, most within 10min.
One thing i have noticed is that fees have gone up quite a bit in the last couple of years, when once a fee of $0.05 was enough to get my single input tx into the next block now it's more like $0.50 and fingers crossed it makes the next block, still cheap but if fees keep rising this fast people like me will be priced out of the maker soon enough.
Keep in mind that most transactions i send are small with only a couple of inputs max, i hear from businesses that accept bitcoin payments that the fees to transfer all those small payments they receive throughout the fortnight to another address can cost tens of dollars now!

So for someone like myself who uses bitcoin just about daily but is not a bitcoin expert the scaling debate can be a nightmare to navigate, especially when censorship on some forums is thrown into the mix.